One more confession

In my previous post I confessed of a tendency to plan elaborate events the minute I’ve had a drink. I’d like to think that this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, as it’s lead to some great events.

This next confession: far less charming. When it comes to sharing, where my kitchen is concerned, I’m firmly in the does not play well with others category. Mostly, what it comes down to is that I’m a control freak, plain and simple. When I’m hosting, I typically have a clear vision of the menu in mind—infused vodka!, rainbow cakes!—most of the time, it’s about the challenge. Think Dinner Impossible: The home version where nothing is camera ready.

All of which is to say that when my friend Jared was visiting from Seattle and suggested we host a dinner together, I’m fairly certain he had no idea what he was getting into.

Here’s how the planning went down:

Jared mentioned Asian inspired dishes.
I came back with the idea of Asian and Mexican fusion… Because I had an event title that I thought would be funny.
I started highlighting recipes. Jared told me I should relax. Things would come together, and we could just have someone bring dessert. I started looking for dessert recipes with a vengeance, ultimately settling on sweet potato ice cream. If Jared thought this was odd, he did not say so. I sent a suggested menu plan. Jared told me he would take care of everything, and he figured that I could just relax and drink a beer while he cooked. I sighed. One of our mutual friends, upon hearing this, guffawed. I bought groceries. Jared bought groceries.
We cooked in the same kitchen. At the same time. No small feat, given that my kitchen is generously 10′ x 10′.

And, everything did come together, and, I did have a beer while Jared cooked, in case you were wondering. But I finished about a third before getting back to my own cooking because, after all, I had a standard to maintain.

Here’s the menu:

The East Meets [South] West Coast Dinner

Salsa Cruda
Guacamole
Roasted Tomato Salsa

Chicken Tacos
Miso Glazed Cod Tacos

Stewed Black Beans (this recipe, but with half of the beans blended for better texture)
Lime Rice
Pickled Watermelon Radishes
Red Cabbage Slaw

Sweet Potato Ice Cream
Spiced Chocolate Cake

Stay tuned for a flurry of recaps.

3 Comments

Filed under Etc.

3 responses to “One more confession

  1. Your kitchen is not 10’x10′. Don’t lie. It’s 10’x4′ max!

  2. Pickled watermelon radishes sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

