On being social

Upon closer examination, it occurs to me that I’m overly social networked. I’m aware that networked isn’t a word. Indulge me, if you will.

Let’s do a run down of the short list, shall we? There’s Tumblr, for musings; twitter, for even shorter musings (and, integrated with Tumblr, natch); flikr, for hosting; google plus+, for, well, I’m not really sure for what but everyone was using it for a short time, anyway; facebook, for, again, I’m not sure, but because everyone is using it; foursquare, for no apparent reason, really; wordpress, for this very thing; and on and on. You get the idea.

All of this and, at least today, ensconced in warmth of my apartment, the last thing that’s on my mind is being social.

Maybe it’s because it’s cold and snowing here in New York City, and growing up we thought of these as perfect Chinese food days. Or, did, until my mother and sister ended up getting rear ended on New York Avenue, before our local Chinese Restaurant changed locations and, though (thankfully) everyone was okay, this meant that I had to greet the music teacher on my own, which in turn meant a double lesson and if you ever heard me play clarinet when I was in middle school well, you’d know what I’m getting at here. There may have been a period of time where my parents made me practice in the basement of our house. With the door closed. Then again, I chose to play clarinet because it was one of the smallest instruments to carry around aside from the flute, and my sister played the flute and was actually good, and I didn’t want to compete.

Clearly I was never going to be a virtuoso.

I do, however, make a fantastic bowl of hot and sour soup. Without mushrooms and tofu, since it’s my house and I get to do whatever I want. I’ve included the adapted recipe below. It’s just the thing for a cold night such as this one.

Hot and Sour Soup
Recipe adapted from Serious Eats

1 cup cooked and shredded chicken
8 cups chicken stock, with 1/4 cup set aside
1 teaspoon sugar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 TBS cornstarch
Sriracha, to taste
1 teaspoon black pepper
2 eggs
1 can bamboo shoots, drained
1 can sliced water chestnuts, drainted

In a medium pot, heat chicken chicken stock.

In small bowl, combine sugar, soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil, Sriracha and black pepper. Add to soup. Taste, adjusting the heat and sourness of the soup with additional Sriracha or rice vinegar, as needed. Combine cornstarch and reserved chicken stock, stirring whisking until the cornstarch has been well incorporated, forming a slurry. Add the slurry to the soup.

Bring soup to boil.

In a measuring cup, whisk the eggs together. Slowly pour in the beaten egg in a tiny stream, stirring the soup to break up the stream of eggs.

Reduce heat to simmer. Add bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. Simmer for five minutes.

Serves 4 as a main dish, 6 as an appetizer.

1 Comment

Filed under Meat, Soup

One response to “On being social

  1. Very nice! Glad you’re staying warm in this weather!

Leave a Reply

