The post with all of the excuses.

The truth is, I have about five (okay, ten) posts in various forms of draft. The long weekend was going to be the weekend where I finally caught up and finished all of my recaps before starting yet another series.

You know what they say about the best laid plans.

What happened was this: the work week was brutal. Then, I was getting sick. And, please stop me from talking about the weather or this will be the most boring post that I’ve written in almost two years. You get the point, at any rate.

This week promises to be just as chaotic as the last—currently, my dresser is dismantled in my bedroom as I attempt to fix one of my drawers with hope and gorilla glue. And, tomorrow I have approximately 5 hours of meetings. So, to bed very soon. But I cannot let another week go by without finishing the recap of a meal that happened two months ago, and was already a month late.

Yeah, I know. Are you still with me here?

Cornbread Stuffing

This recipe is infinitely adaptable to accommodate a crowd. I’ve included the measurements that I used below. This served nine with leftovers that lasted for days. Feel free to scale it back or add more if necessary. The most important thing is adding the egg just before baking so that the stuffing has something to bind it.

1 loaf cornbread, cubed
1 2-lb loaf white bread, cubed
2 TBS olive oil
1 onion
8 oz roasted and shelled chestnuts
4 ribs celery, diced
2 apples, peeled cored and cubed
1 tsp thyme
2 cups vegetable or poultry stock
1 egg, beaten
salt and pepper to taste

Heat your oven to 250 degrees Fahrenheit. Heat the bread and corn bread approximately 25 minutes, until it is dried out but not browned. Set aside and then raise the oven temperature to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

While the bread is heating, you should saute your vegetables. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil. Add in the onions and saute on a medium heat until they are translucent, adding salt and pepper to taste. This should take approximately five minute. Then add your celery, apples and thyme to the skillet, stirring. Heat for another 3-4 minutes, until the mixture is aromatic and the apples and celery have started to soften. Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, combine the cooled bread, vegetables and the chestnuts. Add the stock a half a cup at a time, until the entire mixture is moist but not soggy. Stir to combine, then add in the beaten egg.

Transfer the stuffing to an oven safe serving dish and cook at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes.

Serves twelve

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, Etc., Starch & Grains

Leave a Reply

