Cause for Celebration

Indulge me if you will. This is my hundredth post.

I was at a party recently when I finally realized how far I had come from here. The fact that I had a blog had come up in conversation and I went through my usual explanation of it—how many months after being restructured at work, I was feeling stymied and started to worry that I’d lose what rudimentary knowledge html I had; how a food blog seemed a better vehicle for creativity since I wouldn’t be mining my personal life for content, which had been something that I wanted to avoid.

Jared stopped me.

“Why not just say, I have a food blog because I like cooking?” he had asked.

I started to protest. A year and some odd months later, and I still don’t think of myself as a food blogger.

“Fine,” he said, “But it sounds so much better. And more interesting.”

The thing is, this project has morphed. I still code all of the posts myself, just so I remember. But, this blog has also gone from being a thing that I do just because to a thing that I look forward to doing. It has become an archive of my cooking and a way to challenge myself, coming up some outlandish projects and new staples.

I’m just as likely to check the recipe index here when I’m cooking as I am to consult a cookbook. I’m hoping that some of you out there are, too.

And, while originally, I took pains to keep the personal out, it has slowly seeped in. I like that.

It seems fitting, too, that my hundred post is one in which I tackle one of my long standing kitchen fears—pie crust. It’s always seemed unnecessarily fussy to me, with the ice water and the need to keep everything chilled just so, and I’ve never been certain it’s worth all the effort. But, after going through the effort of freezing sour cherries during their short lived season, it seemed like it was finally time to try.

I’m ambivalent, which is why I’ve stuck to topping the tart with an almond crumb.

Who knows, maybe lattice crusted will be the next step? Perhaps it’s something to aim for with my two hundredth post.

It’s certainly nice to have goals towards which to aspire.

To make the crust:
1 cup white flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3-4 TBS ice water
1/2 cup (8 TBS) butter, chilled and divided

In a food processor, combine the flours, cinnamon, and butter. Pulse about 10-15 times, adding ice water slowly until the mixture forms into loose pebbles. Turn out of your mixer and form into a disc. Cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.

To Make the filling:
4 large peaches, diced
3 large shiro plums, diced
1 1/2 cups cherries (sour if you have them)
1 TBS lemon juice
1/3 cup granulated sugar, if using sour cherries. 1/4 cup if using sweet.
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 TBS cornstarch

In a large bowl, combine the peaches, plums, cherries, lemon juice, sugar, cinnamon and corn starch. If you are using sweet cherries, scale back the granulated sugar to 1/4 of a cup or less. Set aside until you are ready to assemble the tart.

To Make the Crumb:
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
4 TBS butter
3 TBS granulated sugar
3 TBS dark brown sugar
1/4 cup almonds
1 tsp cinnamon

Combine all of the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until the almonds have been coarsely ground. Chill for at least twenty minutes before using.

To assemble:
While you are assembling, preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Roll out the dough and place it into a 9×13″ pan. Using a fork, poke holes along the bottom. Place the tart pan on a cookie sheet.

Pour in the fruit filling, spreading evenly throughout the pan, then top with the almond crumble.

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes, rotating halfway through. Allow the tart to sit for at least twenty minutes before serving so that the juices can cool.

Serves Eight

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, Etc.

One response to “Cause for Celebration

  1. Seattle. All of it.

    This looks particularly nom. Congrats on 100!

Leave a Reply

