Seek and Ye Shall Be Rewarded

Ok, fine.

I admit it, when it comes to cooking, I sometimes (often) make things far more difficult than strictly necessary.

So, when my friend Andrea suggested making pizza, there was no doubt in my mind that we would make it with fresh dough.

Right.

You know how pizza recipes always start out a simply “1 pound fresh dough.” Yeah, well, that’s easier said than done.


We quickly discovered that grocery stories seem to only sell frozen dough. Or precooked sheets. To me, part of the whole point of pizza is the crust, so I couldn’t see going through all of the effort of making pizza if we were using a precooked base.

I’m nothing if not particular.

Then, there was the pizza place that billed itself as healthy—I must admit here that I firmly believe that pizza is one of those things, like doughnuts or chocolate, that should not be healthy. It should be delicious. I’d rather eat less than suffer through whole wheat crust. (I’m stopping myself from ranting further here).

Four stops later and we finally found crust. I’m fairly certain that the man behind the counter laughed at me since my pleasure seemed a little excessive to say the least.

All of this is to say that, this pizza is delicious. And, I’m cheating and instructing you to use premade dough, but with a warning—plan it out a day before so you can just buy the frozen kind and defrost it. Or, make it yourself. Which is what I’ll likely do next time.

Old habits and all that.

White Pizza
Adapted from Real Simple

1 pound pizza dough, at room temperature
cornmeal, for the baking sheet
1 pound asparagus, halved crosswise and lengthwise
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 1/2 cups ricotta
1/2 cup grated Parmesan (2 ounces)
3 tablespoons olive oil
kosher salt and black pepper
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Heat oven to 400° F.

Shape the dough into 2 rounds and place on 2 cornmeal-dusted baking sheets.

Dividing evenly, top the dough with the asparagus and garlic, then the ricotta, Parmesan, and 2 tablespoons of the oil.

Season with salt and pepper.

Bake, switching the pans halfway through, until the crust is golden brown and crisp, 25 to 30 minutes.

.

2 Comments

Filed under Bread, Etc., Meatless, Vegetables

2 responses to “Seek and Ye Shall Be Rewarded

  1. joyce

    although it is still before lunch, the photos and description made me want to take a bite of that pizza… am very tempted to try to make one myself!

  2. Roxy

    It looks delicious! Next time I come to NYC we should cook something together. I’m very good at stirring…

Leave a Reply

