Conversations With My Sister

A typical phone call with my sister:

Robyn: So, I read about green tea ice cream/napoleons/rock candy. You should totally make that. We can make it together! You can blog about it!

Me: Um, yeah, I’m not going to make that.

Robyn: Why?

Me: I don’t really like matcha/I don’t think that I can make it anywhere near as well as a bakery/[blank stare].





2 days later

Me: I’m thinking about making honeycomb. Will you eat it?

Robyn:Honeycomb? Is that like…

Me [at the same time]: a Cadbury Crunchie without the chocolate!

Robyn: Yeah, I’ll eat that.

Me: Done and done.

Honeycomb
Recipe from Bon Appetit

1.5 cups sugar
.25 cups water
3 TBS corn syrup
1 TBS honey
1 TBS baking soda

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the sugar, corn syrup, honey and water into a heavy bottomed saucepan with deep sides. Stir over medium-low heat, dissolving sugar.

Once the sugar has dissolved, increase the heat to high, bringing the mixture to a boil. Cook the mixture without stirring it, brushing the sides with a wet pastry brush to keep the sugar from burning against the sides of the pan and swirling the mixture occasionally. Once the mixture turns a pale amber, add the baking soda and whisk quickly to combine. The mixture will foam up.

Immediately pour candy over the parchment lined baking sheet without spreading it out. Leave undistributed for at least 20 minutes, until the candy has completely cooled. Crack into pieces.

Makes 8 servings

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, Etc.

One response to “Conversations With My Sister

  1. I adore green tea ice cream and I made some at home last summer. It was a total win.

Leave a Reply

