On being resourceful

So, about a year ago this happened. If I’m being completely honest, it was hard—harder than I would have liked. Of course, that’s not surprising in retrospect given how tumultuous the years before had been. Such is life.

The weekend after, Ben and Mike, two of my dearest friends, were in town. Men who, as it turns out, have a knack being in exactly the right place when I need them, despite the Continents between us.

When I think back to then, I remember being in all sorts of pain—from the cliche of heartbreak, yes, but mostly from traipsing across the city with what turned out to be a stress fracture in my leg. And there was a lot of traipsing. In fact, I recall attempting to under play the pain I was in, if only because I was having such a wonderful time. If I had been up to skipping, I would have. Instead I limped from the East Village all the way to the High Line, taking everything in, and feeling like a tourist in my own city.

Sometimes it takes someone from the outside to make you see what’s right in front of you.

At some point during the weekend, my friend Jared pointed out that, had the aforementioned heartbreak not happened, I probably wouldn’t have spent nearly as much time with Ben and Mike.

I had to admit he was right.

And, I had to acknowledge that many of the wrong things had been occupying my time. It was the start of a humbling and slow process.

There are multiple ways to look at anything.

2009 could be the year my family waited, or it could be the year my father received a new heart. It’s the same thing. Sort of. Just recentered a bit.

By that same token, I could have focused on what I thought I had lost, and certainly, for a while, I did. It’s natural. But, ultimately, it’s unimportant. Had things not happened the way they did, then so much else wouldn’t have followed, from finally getting to visit Ben and Mike in their adopted home, to a new job, to some of the quiet moments that have sustained me.

What it comes down to is taking a second look at the immediate, and thinking about it in a different way. Making the best of things, if you will.

I hesitated in sharing this recipe, as it seems so obvious, but I think that it’s informed by the same spirit. With some oil and just a bit of seasoning and time, stale bread gets a second life, and in this way, nothing goes to waste.

I do this sort of thing all of the time.

Croutons

2 cups bread, cubed
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
2 TBS olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place the diced bread in a large sealable bag, along with the garlic powder, salt and olive oil. Seal and shake well, until the bread is well coated.

Spread out the bread on a cookie tray so that takes up one layer. Cook for 20 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, turning halfway through, until the bread is golden brown.

Makes two cups

3 Comments

Filed under Bread, Etc.

3 responses to “On being resourceful

  1. Joyce Tisman

    I too try to use everything so nothing goes to waste. These are easy and you can add any seasoning you wish and control the amount of oil used so they are much healthier than the store bought ones and considerably tastier!

  2. Ben

    I try and catch up with the posts once in a while and am honoured to be mentioned. I distinctly remember that weekend when there was much frolicking to be had but sadly because of your leg, we were moseying along instead, which turned out quite well since we saw that crazy expo and drank lots of beer! [ISL claps]

Leave a Reply

