Yolky Carnage

Remember that long ago brunch? The one where my family thought I was crazy for attempting to make bagels?

I have to admit, I was worried that they might be right.

So, I had a back-up plan. First, I would have much more food than necessary, just in case the bagels were an epic fail. Second, my sister would be on call to buy bagels from the store down the street from me. I’m all for being prepared.

A good thing no doubt, because, while the bagels were a smashing success, my eggs were not. Look closely at the photos and you’ll see that muffin liners in the set-up shots are not the ones that made it onto the table.

About that—it turns out that my natural impulse to focus on the presentation might not always guide me in the right direction. I had purchased what I thought were elegant liners that would make it easy to serve the eggs individually.

I was brilliant!

I’d serve elegant plates of food and be relaxed because the eggs would all be cooked at the same time my guests arrived. They’d be so impressed! I was on my way to being the best host ever.

Right.

Instead, I learned an important lesson: pan liners designed for thick batters, like, say, cake, should not under any circumstances be used for liquid-y (yes, that’s the technical term) things like eggs. Sure, you could try. But, you’ll likely end up with a baking try covered in half cooked eggs. While you’re frantically begging your sister (who was on call, thankfully) to go get more eggs at the deli next door.

Take comfort in the fact that the resulting egg cups, which you’ve had to make twice because of the snafu, are indeed delicious. And, really easy. Assuming that you remember that you can’t make them all pretty with decorative cups. Trust me on this one. It’s not going to be easy to clean. Instead, simply grease your muffin tin well. Your guests will be impressed and you’ll be much, much more relaxed.

Egg Cups with Broccoli and Cheddar

12 eggs
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese
2 cups broccoli
1 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper

Olive Oil for brushing your muffin tin

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Using a pastry brush or paper towel, grease the muffin tins with olive oil.

Steam or microwave the broccoli so that it is bright green and tender. Set aside. Combine the eggs, heavy cream, salt, and pepper and whisk together.

Divide the broccoli and cheddar cheese evenly among the muffin tins. Set aside 1/2 cup of the cheddar.

Pour the egg mixture into the muffin tins, so that each tin is approximately 3/4 full. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, for 30-35 minutes, rotating half way through and topping with the remaining cheddar cheese. Serve immediately once the eggs have set.

Makes twelve

Leave a comment

Filed under Brunch, Meatless

Leave a Reply

