Coming Attractions

I’m back! And, very, very jet lagged.

In other words, there are still piles of clothing to be put away, gifts to be handed out, emails to be attended to. All of the demands of regular life beckon. A little too loudly.

Did I mention that I was jet lagged?

I’m also aching to share some of the sights of Zurich, Lugano and Alsace with you (and, embarassingly several recipes from the days before I left for vacation.) So, there will be more to come. With recipes and stories that are both charming and more smartly articulated than I can promise at the moment.

Consider this a small preview for the time being. Or, better, yet, an apéritif.

Appropriate enough, given that I’m leaving you with a recipe for my new favorite drink—an Aperol Spritz.

Before we go on, let’s get this out of th eway: Aperol is, in fact, an Italian bitter.

I read about a few months back, on Orangette. At the time, it felt too cold for something that seemed, to me at least, so summery both in color and flavor profile. So, the craving was filed away for summer. And then, it was summer. And, I arrived in Switzerland and saw it on offer throughout the cafés of Zürich and, later in the week, just a hopskipandajump away from Italy, in Lugano.

As for the drink: It’s quintessentially Swiss. Or, maybe not, but the friends who I visited told me so, and that’s good enough for me.

Think Campari but without the rough, bitter edge. Instead, it’s just got a slight bitterness rounded with the floral notes of rhubarb that keeps it from veering into the “drinks I drank when I was seventeen” range. And, when mixed with prosecco or seltzer, it is a vibrant shade of orange.

It’s positively celebratory, if you ask me.

Just the right kind of drink to enjoy on your vacation. Or, perhaps, the rest of your summer.

Aperol Spritz
Recipe courtesy of Aperol

2 ounces Aperol
3 ounces Prosecco
Splash of Seltzer
Ice
Orange Slices, to garnish

In a wine or highball glass, add ice and pour in Aperol. Top off with prosecco and seltzer, and then garnish with a thin slice of orange.

Makes One

Leave a comment

Filed under Etc.

Leave a Reply

