Fit for a celebration

I have to admit, I had my doubts about this cake.

Pistachio paste isn’t exactly a cheap or easy to find ingredient (I got mine here) and you’ve already heard about my quest to find Dumante, so although pistachio cake seemed like a delicious idea in theory, I thought that it may not be worth all of the effort.

So I remained skeptical at best that it would live up to my hopes. I wanted something moist, but not dense. Since pistachio paste is quite oily—much more than I had expected—I was concerned that there would be too much flour and it would be brick-like.

And, there was the green color. I was worried that it might be just a little unappetizing.

Worries without merit, as it turns out.

In fact, this pistachio cake now tops the list as one of my new favorites. Finished with some confectioners’ sugar or a dollop of whipped cream and served along side a strong cup of coffee, it’s festive while still being sophisticated. The perfect end to a dinner hosted long ago.

The cake is also simple enough to double as a [decadent] breakfast.

And, since it freezes better than I had anticipated, I’ll be doing just that to celebrate my birthday today.

Pistachio Cake

11 oz pistachio paste (1 can)
1/3 cup granulated sugar
4 oz unsweetened butter, cut into small pieces and chilled, plus more for coating the pan
2 TBS honey
3 eggs
2 TBS Dumante (Amaretto can be substituted)
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup crushed pistachios
1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Butter an 8″ springform pan and line the bottom with parchment paper

In a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the pistachio paste and sugar for at least 2 minutes. Add in the butter and cream until well blended, about 4-5 minutes.

Mix in honey, Dumante, and the eggs, one at a time, until the batter has been fully combined.

Scrape batter into the pan and smooth, tapping the pan on your counter to get out any air bubbles and top the batter with the crushed pistachios.

Bake until the sides are golden brown and a toothpick placed into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 30-35 minutes, depending on your oven.

Allow the cake too cool, and then serve with a dusting of powdered sugar of whipped cream.

Serves 8-10

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert

One response to “Fit for a celebration

  1. Samantha

    Ooooh this sounds amazing and, somehow, exotic. I hope I get to try it someday. Now, if this is better than your almond cake I might just move in.

Leave a Reply

