So simple

This is one of the easiest tomato sauces you’ll ever make.

Don’t let that fool you.

It’s also one of the best.

How to explain it? In this case, the key is in the simplicity of it. The three (yes, you read right, three) ingredients work in perfect harmony, complimenting each other until they become something greater, richer.

It’s safe to say that I could eat it by the panful.


No doubt a good thing since, as I’m sure you’ve noticed by the lapse in posts, time has been scarce here, so simple dinners are in order.

I’ll be back in full swing soon enough, I hope, perhaps making fresh pasta along with this sauce. Until then, I hope you have more time than I do. But, if not, this recipe comes together in a flash.

Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce

Adapted from the Amateur Gourmet

1 onion, halved
1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
4 TBS butter

Add butter, onions, and crushed tomatoes to a large saucepan over low heat. Bring to a simmer and heat covered for 45 minutes.

Remove onions, taste and add salt if necessary. Serve over pasta.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meatless, Pasta

Leave a comment