1+1=3

To be completely honest, when I first saw a recipe for chocolate chip cookies made with whole wheat flour, I scoffed. I mean, why take something perfectly good and rework it with, well, healthy ingredients?

These cookies still seemed like an affront to after school snackers everywhere. (I take my cookies very seriously, it seems.)

I certainly understood the idea behind the addition of whole wheat—the theory is that allowing the inherent qualities of the ingredients to shine through would produce a sum greater than its parts. It’s why pasta made with semolina flour in more flavorful than that made with all purpose flour and why I always favor the mellowness of shallots over onions in my vinaigrette.

So, the more I thought about it, the more my initial reaction seemed premature. One thing was clear, I was going to have to try the recipe myself.

Ultimately, what it came down to was that I was worried that adding whole wheat flour would make the chocolate chip cookies into something else. And, in my mind, there’s no point of having a chocolate chip cookies unless you get that iconic taste.

So, I proceeded with caution, which is to say that I couldn’t bring myself to cut out the white flour completely. Then, I added some cinnamon for good measure in the hopes that it would make the chocolate warmer and more pronounced.

It turns out that a strange sort of alchemy happens with the whole wheat flour. The cookies take one a warm, nutty characteristic. They taste wholesome, yes, but they don’t taste like they’re trying too hard to be something healthy.

In fact, they taste just like chocolate chip cookies should, only better. Meet your grown-up after school snack.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe adapted from Orangette

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1 ½ tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 ½ tsp. kosher salt
1 tsp cinnamon
2 sticks (8 oz.) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup lightly packed dark brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
8 oz semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat over to 350°F.

Line baking sheets with a silpat mat or parchment paper.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a medium bowl, and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, combine the butter, brown sugar and white sugar. Cream the butter and sugar, until well blended. Then, add the eggs one at a time, until they are well incorporated. Add in the vanilla.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the flour mixture, in three parts. Blend on a low speed until the flour has been incorporated. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the mixing bowl.

Add the chocolate chips and mix on a low speed until they are evenly combined into the cookie dough.

Scoop mounds of dough about 1 tablespoons in size onto the baking sheets, spacing them evenly apart.

Bake the for 9-11 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through, until the cookies are evenly browned.

Makes five dozen cookies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

