Donate Life

Forgive me—I’ve tried to stay away from the deeply personal here, with a few exceptions, but, well, simply put: this is one of them.

A year ago today, my father received a heart transplant.

It was a whirlwind, to say the least, after a year filled with so much waiting. I’ll spare you the details because, quite honestly, it’s still a little hard to discuss. And, I’m not sure that I would believe any of it, despite having lived through it. I’ll just say that after so much uncertainty, it was a happy ending for my family.

To say I wouldn’t change anything would, of course, be a lie. I would give anything to have years of health for my family. Or, for being able to know that what’s in store going forward and, certainly at the time, for being able to know that things would turn out alright in the end.

But, life doesn’t work in such ways. The best we can hope for, I think, it to make it through stronger and better for the experience, having learned something about ourselves and those we love.

So why am I mentioning this?

If only for a plea that you’ll sign up to be an organ donor today.

Click here for more information.

Leave a comment

Filed under Etc.

Leave a Reply

