Just So

I went nearly fifteen years without eating red meat.

Around the time that I was twelve, I stopped liking the taste of it and then, next thing I knew, years had passed, and I still didn’t miss it, so it hardly seemed worth trying again.

Except.

Except that the smell of seared steaks always seemed so inviting. So, it was really only a matter of time before I tried it again.

And, so, when the man I was seeing offered to cook me steak, it seemed as good a time as any. We had New York strip steaks, cooked simply, deeply seared and almost bloody inside, paired with a lightly dressed salad. It was revelation, and I couldn’t help but wonder, aloud, several times, why I had ever given it up in the first place.

Now I’m trying to restrain myself from making up for lost time and eating all of the steak I didn’t for years in one fell swoop. It’s easier said than done when I have someone around to cook it so well for me.

This, then, is his recipe.

Seared Steaks

This is more of a method than a recipe, since your measurements will vary depending on size of your steaks. Likewise, cooking times will vary based on your desired temperature.

2 New York Strip Steaks
Garlic, crushed
Olive Oil
Worcester Sauce
Salt
Pepper

Salt and Pepper each side of your steaks and place them in a small container. Add in olive oil, Worcester sauce and garlic and allow your steaks to marinate, at least one hour. You can put them in the refrigerator if you’d like, just be sure to warm your steaks up to room temperature before cooking them.

When you’re ready to cook, heat a cast iron skillet until very hot. If you can’t hold your hand 6 inches above the skillet because the air is too hot, your skillet is ready.

Place the steaks in the skillet and allow them to cook. Do not move the steaks until you are ready to flip them over so that a seared crust has time to form. I typically cook my steaks about 3-4 minutes on a side, so that the inside is still rare.

Once you’ve reached your desired temperature, take the steaks out of the pan and allow them to rest at least 10 minutes prior to serving so that the juices can redistribute into the meat.

Serves 2

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat

Leave a Reply

